Skip to main content
Header Event Reviews

Event Reviews & Recordings

Learn more about our past events

Image
Mercator
07/12/2022
Online Workshop
On Tuesday, 18 October 2022, the project “Regional population diversity and social cohesion in the local context” organised its first online workshop to discuss local mechanisms of social integration, engagement and agency as meaningful tools to counter demographic challenges of depopulation and aging and prevent their negative social effects.
Image
Third Exploratory Meeting
21/01/2022
Democracy & Demography, Population Decline and Demographic Resilience
On Tuesday, 30 November 2021, Population Europe hosted a meeting between the Vice-President of the European Commission for Democracy and Demography Dubravka Šuica and leading demographers in the EU.
Image
Second Exploratory Meeting
14/05/2021
The Role of Demography in the Recovery Phase
On Wednesday, 28 April 2021, Population Europe hosted a meeting between the Vice-President of the European Commission for Democracy and Demography Dubravka Šuica and leading demographers in the EU. The purpose of this second meeting in the series of meetings with Vice-President Šuica was to discuss: a) the role of demography in the recovery plans for Europe and b) population decline and brain drain.
Image
Demography and the Coronavirus Pandemic: What have we learned so far and where do we go from here?
02/12/2020
Event Review of the High-Level Expert Meeting
On 9 November 2020, Population Europe hosted a High-Level Expert Meeting to discuss what the demographic community has learned thus far about the COVID-19 pandemic and where they go from here. As the COVID-19 pandemic continues, it will be important that demographers make a greater effort to communicate their research findings to influence policy measures addressing the impacts of the pandemic. Researchers also need to be more vocal in combating misinformation about the virus and conveying the non-health implications of this pandemic on society.
Image
"So that what fits together grows together: How we can better exploit the potential of data"
08/09/2020
1 September 2020: Tuesday Dialogue of the Förderfonds Wissenschaft in Berlin
Stefan Liebig, Director of the Socio-Economic Panel and Member of the Board of the German Institute for Economic Research (DIW), preceded his presentation at the first Tuesday Dialogue with the question: What data are available to answer to important future challenges, and how can we better tap this potential and possibly even expand it considerably?