You are here

Event

IUSSP Webinar: Quantifying COVID-19-Related Excess Mortality in Latin America

Jul 17
2020

IUSSP Webinar: 

Quantifying COVID-19-related excess mortality in Latin America: Demographic analyses of death registration data in Latin America

Friday 17 July 2020

13:00 - 14:30 UTC | 15:00 - 16:30 Paris

9:00 - 10:30 New York | 10:00 - 11:30 Rio de Janeiro

REGISTER HERE

The COVID-19 pandemic has considerably affected the mortality numbers of many countries in the world, and Latin America is now considered the epicenter of the disease. One metric to investigate and analyze the impact of the pandemic is to look at excess mortality. Everton Lima and colleagues at several Brazilian universities and other Latin American centers have collected monthly civil registration data for some of the countries in the region; they analyzed the effects of the disease on small areas by comparing the mortality levels in 2020 with those of 2019.

Everton Lima’s presentation and the discussion led by Jenny Garcia and Stephane Helleringer will be followed by Q&As with the audience.

This webinar is organized by the IUSSP Panel on Population Perspectives and Demographic Methods to Strengthen Civil Registration and Vital Statistics Systems, in collaboration with the International Development Research Centre (Canada) Centre of Excellence on CRVS Systems.

Event information
Date: 
17/07/2020
Institution: 
International Union for the Scientific Study of Population (IUSSP)