You are here

Call for Papers

Call for Papers: Immigration in OECD Countries - 10th Annual International Conference


The CEPII, LISER and the OECD as well as their partners from the Fondazione Rodolfo De Benedetti, Paris School of Economics, University of Lille (LEM) and University of Luxembourg are jointly organizing the 10th Annual Conference on "Immigration in OECD Countries" on December 7-8, 2020. The conference will examine the economic aspects of international migration in OECD countries by mapping the migratory flows and analyzing their socio-economic determinants and consequences. Topics of interest include, among others, the determinants of immigration to the OECD, migrants’ self-selection, the political economy of immigration, its labor market and public finance effects, as well as migrants and refugees social, political and economic integration.

Keynote Speakers:

  • Sergei Guriev (Sciences Po)
  • Eliana La Ferrara (Bocconi University)
  • Leah Platt-Boustan (Princeton University) 

A selection of papers from the conference will be considered for publication in a special issue of the Review of International Economics.

Instructions for Submitting a Paper

All papers examining immigration in OECD countries from an economic perspective will be considered. Authors must submit a full paper. The author making the submission must provide the full names, affiliations, and email addresses of all coauthors for each submission. Please note that each individual may present only one paper during the conference, though they may be listed as a co-author on multiple papers.

There is no registration fee. A conference dinner will be hosted on 7th December. The organizers are not in a position to cover travel costs. However, they will cover up to three nights of accommodation in a hotel close to the conference venue

Important Dates

  • 25 September 2020: Deadline for submitting papers
  • 25 October 2020: Authors are notified of the selection results
  • 25 November 2020: Deadline for registration

Submissions and questions to be sent to: immigrationworkshop2020 [at]

Scientific Committee

Michel Beine (Université du Luxembourg, CREA), Xavier Chojnicki (Université de Lille, LEM), Patricia Cortes (Boston University), Frederic Docquier (LISER), Jean-Christophe Dumont (OECD), Tommaso Frattini (University of Milan), Albrecht Glitz (Pompeu Fabra), Hubert Jayet (Université de Lille, LEM), Thomas Liebig (OECD), Marco Manacorda (Queen Mary University of London), Anna-Maria Mayda (Georgetown University), Paolo Pinotti (Università Bocconi and Fondazione Rodolfo De benedetti), Lionel Ragot (Université Paris Nanterre, EconomiX, CEPII), Hillel Rapoport (Paris School of Economics, Université Paris 1 and CEPII), Ariell Reshef (Paris School of Economics, CNRS and CEPII), Jan Stuhler (Carlos III Madrid), Arthur Sweetman (McMaster University).

Local Organization Committee

Jean-Christophe Dumont (OECD), Anthony Edo (CEPII), Charlotte Levionnois (OECD), Lionel Ragot (Université Paris Nanterre, EconomiX, CEPII) and Hillel Rapoport (Paris School of Economics, Université Paris 1 and CEPII)